Frumpfighter

Archive for January 4th, 2009

Just got back from the first post-holiday grocery shopping spree. For the past month or so (well, I have to include Thanksgiving, so two months) my trips to the store have resulted in egg nog, cookie ingredients, stuffed olives and other high-calorie indulgences.

This time I wasn’t planning for any dinners, parties or football gamesĀ – just focused on the desire to eat healthier. I forgot how many good-for-you, low-fat, low-calories foods I actually like. Really like.

Previously, I mentioned my weakness for Ranch dressing and was seeking substitutes for my dipping obsession. Spicy brown mustard has zero calories and light raspberry pecan dressing has a fraction of Ranch. Other low-calorie, yet filling, snacks I seemed to have forgotten about include pickles, salsa and peppers.

There is an argument that it is more expensive to eat healthy. True, you can pick up generic Ding-Dongs and Twinkies for about a buck, but at the store where I shop, you can also snag a head of lettuce for 79 cents. With the right toppings, that will be good for at least three lunches.

My trip to the grocery store has given me renewed excitement about my journey to get my groove back. I can do this.


    follow me on Twitter

    Blog Stats

    • 58,159 hits

    Top Clicks

    • None
    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031